IAC logo
Film and Video Institute

The world of non-commercial film and A-V


The Peter Coles Audio Visual Awards

Many members work in the A-V field. In earlier years they made sequences of slides, matched to a soundtrack on tape, but most now work with digital stills and music files.

The main trophy is named after Peter Coles, a great champion of the AV field and multiple award winner, who died in 2011. The runner-up award is named for the late Geoffrey Round, a past Chairman of the Institute. From 2000 the J. Lizar's Cup was assigned to the Geoffrey Round award.

2021 Blue AV by Letizia Ronconi (ITA)
2020 The Corruption Of Innocence by Liam Haines (IRE)
2019 Fragments of Memory by Ron Davies (UK)
2018 Yellow Bracelets by Giuliano Mazzanti (UK)
2017 Kelpies by Howard Bagshaw (UK)
2016 Tryfan Skylight by Marion Waine & John Rowell (UK)
2015 The Holy Brook by Martin Fry (UK)
AZ by Robert Albright (UK)
Beewun by Patrick Rottiers (FR)
2012 Le 203 ème Jour Christian & Danièle Brion (France)
2011 Portrait of the Author Colin Balls, Walter Jones & Iain Lang
2010 The Quiet One Keith Brown
2009 Isadora's Legacy Eddie Spence
2008 One Day One Life Pier Luigi Montali
2007 Essai sur ma haine Jacques van de Weerdt
2006 Room 17 Johan Werbrouck
2005 Hedd Wyn Ron Davies
2004 The Vanishing Race Johann Werbrouck & Freddy Adam
2003 City of Flowers Peter Coles
2002 Memories' Thief (Il Ladro di Ricordi) Gabriele Pinardi (Italy)
2001 Idwal Bach Ron Davies
2000 Not I Surely Jean & Reg Royle
1999 competition not held due to illness -
1998 Are Yer Arking Harry Duckmanton
1997 Carnival in Venice Malcolm Imhoff
1996 Monsieur Maurice Norman Veale
1995 Oblivion Sid Pearce

IAC Festivals Main Page | Trophies Introduction